1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Good bass for modding

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by centrefold, May 30, 2011.

1. hey gets I've recently been increasingly interested in getting a 200-350 dollar bass to basically mod.

I'm interested to know some suggestions on basses that are easy to work with for a first time mad scientist like myself.

I'd like to do my own paint on it, change up other little things for fun.

Also any suggestions on things fun to do with them, etc. Like I said I'm brand new to the idea but it seems like something I'd enjoy doing out of the fun of it. I dont think it would be something I'd be using on stage or anything.

Jordan

2. totaldoughnut

totaldoughnut

Apr 30, 2011
  3. PatQ

PatQ

May 11, 2011
    Siegburg, Germany
    I bought a Squier Affinity Precision from eBay and started "aging" it. I'm sure it won't sound better, but it's a lot of fun :)

4. that looks pretty cool man

I would like something more like a decent guitar though that I'd be able to find on craigslist.

**refering to totaldoughnut**

5. I bought a 2nd hand Mexican Fender Jazz years ago, and did mods and upgrades whenever I had saved some money. New tuners, new pickups, new bridge, new pickguard, and a J-retro preamp made it a killer instrument.

6. Well, there you go. Spend a few days searching your local craigs and you're bound to find something interesting. Although...

IMHO, spending over $200 on a bass meant for your first time mod project isn't the best move you could make from a money standpoint. I think you might be better served finding a sub-$150 bass that has decent parts availability, like any Squier Affinity or Epiphone EB series, and go from there.

YMMV, just my 2 cents, IME, etc., etc., of course.

7. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Retired Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)