Good Graphite basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassfacekevin, Dec 22, 2005.

1. Hey, I'd just like to say that I'm very impressed with this website. I think that everyone who posts genuinely want to help others out, and not just jeerk people around. Anyway, to the meat of the question:

I'm looking for a bass that has a 35" scale, 5 string graphite neck, and either EMG (preferred) or bartolini pickups with a 3 band eq preamp. Wood type isn't all that important to me, I just want the bass to be fairly light. Also, I am not a huge stickler to body shape either, (Jazz bodies are great, and I love singlecut looks, but I don't think that you can make them with a graphite neck) Playability and tone are very important to me, and I'm not all that hung up on body types (though I do prefer to steer clear of p-bass bodies, they just don't seem to hang well on me) All of this sounds pretty fine and dandy, but the problem is this: I'm a college student, so I'm trying to find this mythological bass for around $1,000... (feel free to laugh) Is there anyone out there who knows where I could find something like this? or should I throw in the towel, and get something else? thanks.

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
  3. Andy Brown

Andy Brown Supporting Member

Jul 23, 2004
    Rhode Island
    Founder: Wing Bass
    Maybe a used Zon would suit you also.
  4. lamborghini98

lamborghini98 The Aristocrats

May 1, 2005
    NYC; Portland, OR
    I would really have to suggest either a Modulus Q4 or Q5 or something... or hmmm.. nothing else. I love Modulus basses. I think you should try to get one with barts because I think that the graphite neck really complements them well... not a big fan of EMG + Modulus... theyre more of a Spector thing, imo.
  5. VifferMike

VifferMike Registered Four Banger

Dec 10, 2004
    Dallas, Texas