Got Myself A Bongo... need an amp rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ThunderFingers, Feb 25, 2006.

1. ThunderFingers

Feb 20, 2006
    .....something I didn't think was going to be possible.

Hello everyone, I'm a noob here on TB.

I would like to share my story and humbly ask for further advice.

It pretty much boils down to this. I was currently in need of a new head, cabinet, and bass. What really bites, is the fact that I've only got a good $1800-$2000 to spend. That's all I can really afford due to the courses of events that took place not all that long ago.

To basically sum up a very long story, I lost all my gear due to Hurricane Katrina and I'm just now starting to get back on my feet per say.

My family's alright, thank God, and we've relocated to Wichita Kansas for the time being. (We've got family there/here)

Anyways, due to my limited budget and the level of gear I'm used to having/playing, I'm really at a loss as to what to purchase.

Here's what I'm currently considering right now. For a new head, I'm thinking about the Carvin B1500. As for a new cabinet and bass, well, that's where things were starting to get complicated for me, due to my budget. I've thought about pairing the head with Carvins RL410T. If I did that combo, the RL410T along with the B1500, that would put me right at $998, plus shipping of course, which would leave me with roughly about $800-$1000 left for a new bass. I've also been looking at Aguilar cabinets as well. As for a bass, well before Katrina, I had a few EBMM's, in which up until tonight, I didn't think I'd be able to afford.

As luck would have it though, I landed me a new EBMM HH Bongo for $989 total. It's not the color I would have liked, but under the circumstances, I ain't complaining none. The color is Rolls Burgandy by the way.