1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Greetings from Rochester, New York!

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by Mike Anderson, Feb 4, 2020.

1. I'm very new to playing bass and am hear to hopefully pickup somethings up and learn a thing or two. I previously tried playing the guitar but due to some short stubby fingers I struggled and found the bass much easier to play. I’m self taught to date (not very good) but currently am doing some research to find the best place locally to take lessons and get the most bang for my buck.

I played the trombone from the 3rd grade to about the 7th grade but never took it serious and couldn't read music so got frustrated and basically used it as an excuse to get out of class. How dumb I was!

It's always been a bucket list item for me to be able to play and jam with people. Back in May (2019), I ruptured my Achilles tendon playing baseball and ended up having surgery to repair it. I was in a cast and a walking boot, unable to put weight on my leg for about two months. I went onto Facebook marketplace and bought a used Fender Squier jaguar bass and started to teach myself some. As a Christmas present to myself I bought an Ibanez AEB5E acoustic-electric bass and love the sound of it much better - makes it much easier to pick it up and tool around without all the chords and amps.

2. Oddly

Oddly Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Welcome!
    I know there's a few TB members in upstate NY, might be able to help in recommending lessons.

godofthunder59 and Mike Anderson like this.
  3. Malcolm35

Malcolm35

Aug 7, 2018
    Welcome, there are many ways to get help. Just ask, or do a Google.

Again, welcome.

Mike Anderson likes this.
  4. Mike N and godofthunder59 like this.
  5. Mike N

Mike N Missing the old TB Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2001
    Spencerport, New York