1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Grindy distortion pedal for heavier styles

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Thijsklaps, Jun 4, 2014.

1. Thijsklaps

Thijsklaps

Feb 5, 2014
    Belgium
    I have never used effect pedals on bass before and I just can't find the sound that I'm looking for. At the moment I just play through my amp with no sorts of other effect at all. I'm looking for a heavy and distorted sound, but not too over the top. I would like iT to be something that I can leave on all of the time since I Finder my current sound to be quite boring. Something that would fitt into a band like Nails, Homewrecker,..

I also really like the sound at the beginning of this,
    All suggestions are welcome!
    Thanks

2. Thijsklaps

Thijsklaps

Feb 5, 2014
    Belgium

You can hear the bass quite clearly near the end of the song

3. jumblemind

jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member

Aug 27, 2011
    Knoxville
    Depending on your budget and your existing rig, lots of "preamp" style pedal options for you. Darkglass B3k or B7k do this sound really well; can also look at Fuzzrocious BDPG, Tronographic Rusty Box or even a Tech 21 VT Bass. All of these can be found in the talkbass classifieds if you watch for them.

4. eveilleu

eveilleu

Oct 30, 2013
    Montreal, Qc
    Did you check out the blower box?

5. AciDBatH666

AciDBatH666

Feb 13, 2008
    Lafayette, LA
    I use a Sansamp RBI for most of my tone. Took me nearly 3 years of tinkering around to find that slight grindy tone that I'd been after. And then I found the MXR Bass Di. Now, I use the Sansamp with the Drive at about 12o'clock to give me my little grindy edge for 95% of my sound... And when I need pure distortion I combine it with the MXR DI's distortion. It's a good combination for the metal that we play (tuned to C#).