1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

guitarist learning bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by dynasty32, Oct 8, 2009.

1. dynasty32

dynasty32

Jan 17, 2009
    I've been playing guitar for about 2 years or so, on and off. I want to play another instrument so i figure bass would be the easiest to play as I already play guitar.

I have some questions... do bassists generally have their fretting thumb over the neck or behind it?
    Would I be able to benefit from songwriting skills if I learned bass?
    How fast could I learn to play songs and could i be able to learn songs like crossroads or the lemon song in a couple months?
    Pick or no pick?

2. GaryM

GaryM

Jul 28, 2006
    Dundee, UK
    Behind.

Any knowledge of music theory will help with learning any instrument.

I've no idea.

If it's one or the other then learn fingerstyle.

3. jpfbass

jpfbass

Sep 28, 2009
    Chicago
    Agreed. Fingerstyle is a lot better because there are a lot more options of playing styles that stem from learning just that one style.
    Also, It's what true bassists use (no offense to people who use pick, but fingerstyle is home to the bass and the bass only).

4. dinoplasty

dinoplasty

Sep 11, 2009
    you should learn all styles, including using a pick.

use the style that best suits the sound for the song.

5. A lot of 6 string guitarist will use the same right hand position they used with their 6 string. We are comfortable using this approach. The pick is up to you. I find I don't need it on the bass.