1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gut String Advice Welcome

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by gypsydjango, Nov 6, 2019.

1. gypsydjango

gypsydjango

Jul 9, 2009
    UK
    I have no experience of gut strings--yet to try.Those of you who have had experience of guts how do 'Gamut Red Diamonds' rate with other makes of guts?
    'Red Diamonds' good for both arco & pizz?

2. Reiska

Reiska Supporting Member

Jan 27, 2014
    Helsinki, Finland
    Nylon winding on D and G ain`t propably too bow friendly but I haven`t tried Red Diamonds, but now discontinued Pirastro Pizzicatos. Those were like bowing Velvet Garbos, doable but very difficult with unpleasing tone.

3. 210superair

210superair

Sep 10, 2019
    I bow my red diamonds no problem. I've got lezners on my other bass, I like both, but RD's are a good starting point. Like Francois said, there's a ton of info on here for them, I read a lot of it before buying. I'm content with my RD's, but not sure I'll replace them with another set when they puke out...

4. birgebass

birgebass

Nov 7, 2011
    Arkansas
    I probably posted this in the other forum. The red diamonds are high quality strings, but I really didn't like the nylon wound D and G. The E and A are nice, as long as you can deal with the copper wrap. Green fingers and that copper smell...

5. AGCurry

AGCurry Supporting Member

Jun 29, 2005
    St. Louis
    I have Red Diamond E and A on one of my basses. They are good strings. I find them stiffer/tenser than other wrapped guts (except Pirastro Oliv), and they offer good tuning stability. They are bowable but rather demanding of my arco technique.

6. gypsydjango

gypsydjango

Jul 9, 2009
    UK
    Many thanks guys for your replies--much appreciated.