1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help for complete beginner

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BassSquatch, Dec 30, 2017.

1. BassSquatch

Dec 30, 2017
    I'm a old guy who's never played an instrument in his life. Love all types of Rock and Roll, favorite bassists are Geezer and Steve Harris. Just bought a Fender standard P, and Rumble 100. I have no idea how to even hold it.
    Looking for general advice: what to learn first, exercises, what to worry about later, good sites and YouTube channels, any good Android apps, etc.....
    Thanks in advanced. I feel like a 16 year old who's getting ready to get laid for the first time!!!
  2. 46and2

Nov 12, 2017
    www.studybass.com has some good resources on how to hold the bass, how to fret, etc. I think having a teacher who can correct you though is very helpful as a beginner.
    Lo-E, micbass, Alfonso Alba and 2 others like this.
  3. JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Talkingbass.net has some great lessons, I think Mark is a great teacher.
    fearceol, Mili and BassSquatch like this.
  4. Ooba Tooba

Ooba Tooba

Apr 30, 2017
    The sub forums here could be helpful regarding technique, gear, and setups, and care, exercises etc. my advice would be to just start playing. After a few days you will be able to do things you weren’t able to do at first. So on and so forth...
    BassSquatch likes this.
  5. Apparently metronomes have just been outlawed on TalkBass...so don't bother buying one..

Do not take bass lessons...because nobody knows how to teach bass.

Study jazz theory and classical...because that's where it all started.

You won't need to touch a bass string until you've studied music for about about three years at least.