Help Me Identify this bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kjduval, Oct 22, 2011.

1. Kjduval

Kjduval

Oct 22, 2011
    This is a Fender .. I have attached pics .. what is throwing me off is the neck pickup, no serial anywhere. Any help would be VERY appreciated!! I know it looks rough, the previous owner spray painted it?!?!?!? I'm attempting to restore ..
    Thanks ahead of time !....

Attached Files:

2. pumpkinking39

pumpkinking39

Sep 14, 2011
    What is that? A jazz bass with 4 puckups?

I cant realy identify that but i would definitely take the time to restore that monster.

3. ubnomnar

ubnomnar Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2009
    So Cal
    I'm no expert but it appears to be a lefty Fender Jazz Bass '62 Reissue that has been modded with a P-bass neck pickup in addition to the original Jazz pickups. The original bridge has also been swapped for what appears to be a "BadAss" bridge.

4. Stilettoprefer

Stilettoprefer

Nov 26, 2010
    Looks like someone had an accident with some paint stripper... I'd definitely do a refin on it and fill the route for the added pickup.

5. michael_atw

michael_atw

Feb 28, 2009
    Jamestown, NY
    Bingo.

6. michael_atw

michael_atw

Feb 28, 2009
    Jamestown, NY
    Neck precision pickup is not stock. The serial number should be at the base of the neck, back side...with a "Made in Japan" or "Crafted in Japan". If it's not there, it's sort of not relevant as it definitely is a Japanese '62 Reissue. It looks like that black mystical mark on the 3rd picture is where the serial number would be.

7. mongo2

mongo2

Feb 17, 2008
    Da Shaw
    My guess is a heavily modified '96 MIJ '62 RI Jazz Bass - left handed.

Sorry. I accidentally deleted my original post trying to edit it.

8. danomite64

danomite64

Nov 16, 2004
    Tampa, Florida