Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help me solve this playability issue...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by andruca, May 12, 2005.

1. andruca

andruca

Mar 31, 2004
    Madrid (Spain)
    Hi everybody!

First of all, I'm not sure if this belongs exactly in the "STRINGS" section. Just chose the closest option. If it doesn't, just move it to a more apropriate place.

I got a gig for a ska-punk band and I've been a little challenged regarding speed and precision with both hands. I normally use my 2 Fernandes Gravity V basses, but this time, my Stingray5 felt like the best option for this genre. The thing is I'm having a hard time playing accurately some of the rapid bass lines. I started a "fitness program" for my hands to get fitter. I can really play (I've been a bassist for 17 years now and definitely CAN play, record and gig constantly -just not too much ska or punk-). But last night I practiced these songs for the first time with one of my Gravities and WOW!!!! I could really play fast and accurate, with an absolutely amazing feel and songs really kept moving fine with ZERO problems. I started comparing both basses setups and bassically arrived to no conclusion at all. I use exactly the same string brand and gauge on both (.040, .060, .080, .100 and .125). I have them setup exactly the same (I've done it for years with my basses and since a couple of years ago I do it for others as an extra job, so I know exactly how to do it). Both basses are 34" scale (although I'm afraid string length is a little larger in the SR5 due to the longer headstock and a little longer bridge (from ball end to saddle). The neck on the SR5 is a little thinner than on the Gravities. String spacing at bridge is 19mm on the SR5 and 18mm on the Fernandes. But hell!, the Fernandes is SO MUCH EASIER TO PLAY! It feels softer (not loose at all, the B's still great). I