1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help me understand sealed bass cabs!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CFunkPalace, Sep 25, 2008.

1. CFunkPalace

CFunkPalace

Sep 23, 2008
    I'm new to the forum and let me say I've learned a lot in the few days I've been on the site. Now to call on all of your sage like wisdom... here is my predicament. I just started playing bass again, we are starting to get gigs and I want a better rig. Back in the day, circa 2001, I was playing a Ken Smith bass into an Eden WT800 through an Epifani 3x10 cab, which if I remember, that cab was new and exciting back then. As you can tell from my previous gear, I care about quality and I'm willing to pay for the right tone and playability.

Back in the bass saddle again, I'm starting from scratch and I've decided a few things. Fender Mustang Bass: Not being sure I was going to gig with a group ever again I wanted something affordable and I couldn't believe the variety of tone I could get out this thing that cost $580. Markbass... read about it on here and went to check it out. I A/B'd with an Ampeg and Eden, like my old rig, and hands down Little Mark II is for me.

Now for the cab. I was trying out the standard neo 410s and 115s in different combinations and it was all familiar territory after using my Epifani for years. Then I plugged the Little Mark II into Markbass' classic 8x10 cab.... oooohhhhh how I loved it! So I asked the sales guy why it sounded so different. I even tried two 410 cabs stacked that day. He goes on to explain to me that the cab is sealed and the punchy bottom end that I was going gah gah for was attributed to that.