1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

HELP!!!! my bridge keeps slipping out.

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by plank_spank, Jan 13, 2012.

1. plank_spank

plank_spank

Jan 13, 2012
    Hi, I'm pretty new to DB and a complete beginner to rockabilly. i just bought a set of weedwakers and every time i get them close to tension my bridge slips out... firstly my bridge is the one that came with my 'average' bass and as i tune up the top slowly creeps foward untill it slips out making one hell of a noise.
    Do i need a new bridge or can i fix my current one? i didnt spend very much money on the bass so I'm trying to avoid taking it to be profesionally set up.

Please please please help me!!!

Ken

2. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA
    I'm not a luthier and I don't know anything about the bass you bought. That said here are a couple points to consider.

If it is at all a decent instrument it will be well worth the cost of a proper setup including board planing, post setting, nut slotting and bridge shaping to get it playing and sounding it's possible best.

Make sure the bridge is installed properly, it should not be too difficult to keep it from coming out but it is not uncommon for the nose of the bridge to creep toward the fingerboard while bringing strings up to pitch.

Try this:

Take a ruler (I have a flexible ruler for just this purpose) and place it across the top straight between the upper notches in the f-holes, with the bottom edge of the ruler against the widest point of the notches.