1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help playing 'this'

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by prekabreki, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Hi there I've been playing for about six months and with a band several times a week and 'bassing' is going pretty smoothly and it's all pretty good. But to make a long story short I just can't manage to get a certain technique down. I play using a pick and I know not everyone cares for it but it works for the style of music I'm currently dabbling with.
    Below is a part from the bassline I wrote for a new song using Guitar Pro and of course it sounds great there :smug:

This is what I'm going for but whenever I play it I can't really get the whole striking two strings at once without it sounding strained. So I'm wondering what the 'proper official' way of doing this is? :p
    nttninjafiskalag81-page1.

But I when I play it myself it sounds more like this:
    nttninjafiskalag81-page2.

Any help or simple tips would be great :)

2. I'm strictly a self-taught hobbyist and know nothing about theory, but maybe try resting your finger (on your fret hand) on the string in between (the D string) to mute it. Follow through all 3 strings, keeping the D string muted. Or just learn finger-style. Anyway, I'm probably not much help. Good luck!

3. Now there's a thought, I'll try that when I get off work and see if it goes any smoother.

4. onlyclave

onlyclave

Oct 28, 2005
    Seattle
    Throw away the pick and use your fingers.

5. Correct me if I'm wrong, but do the tabs have discrepancy with the sheet music?
    Assuming I'm not loony, the sheet music appears to be displaying a "B" whereas the tabs are saying to play a "C" on the "A" string...
    Of course, this could be out of standard tuning, which I am unfamiliar with, but it seems unlikely.
    Anyway, subbed, hoping for confirmation or recrimination. Either is welcomed.