Help with Pre-Gibson Trace Elliot Cab 4x8?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BroKen, Sep 21, 2022.

1. BroKen

BroKen

Sep 21, 2022
    Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. I’m a very novice bass player and actually more of a guitar player (pls don’t kill me ;) )

I’ve been practicing ampless and recording directly into my audio interface up until now.
    Got the GAS to finally get an amp and I found this Trace Elliot cab for cheap.
    I just went ahead and got it, thinking I could figure it all out later (which is not going well for me at the moment...)

The seller didn’t know anything at all about the cab and I’m very new to the subject.
    From my very limited knowledge and research, I believe it is a 4x8 cab (Are they really all this big??) from the pre Gibson era since it is in Tolex?
    The sticker on the back has faded, which I guess it typical, but is is it safe to assume that I should run an 8ohm amp through it?
    Please correct me if I’m wrong.
    I would love it if I could get any more info on this cab, even if it is insignificant.

Thanks so much in advance and apologies from my noobness.

Ken

P.S. I live in Japan, if that has anything to do with TE’s product distribution??

2. BroKen

BroKen

Sep 21, 2022
    Oops, forgot the photos...:banghead:

Attached Files:

3. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    I found a model 4808 that you can Google. AFAIK, this means 4x8 and 8 ohms.

I did not find a 4804.

This is not the normal format for TE cab. Usually it's driver size, number of drivers, impedance. For example 1048, 1028, 1528, 1524, etc.

Unfortunately it looks like at least one of the drivers in your cab is not original. If all four drivers share one chamber this is a pretty big problem. If the cab is built in two chambers, then each chamber needs a pair of matching drivers, and the weakest pair determines the power handling.

If the cab is ported, then all drivers must be compatible with the tuning.