Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do I get this sound?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Tawnos, Sep 29, 2004.

1. Tawnos

Tawnos

Sep 29, 2004
    I'm not very experienced with tweaking my sound like this. I usually don't play with anything but EQ. But I have never been able to get this sound with just that:

Example

I'm probably really stupid for even asking this, but hey... gotta be humble sometimes. Thanks for any help in advance.

PS: If it helps, I use a Schecter Elite 5 Bass with a Peavey T-Max 115 amp. I also have the DigiTech BP200 Effects Processor.

2. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    That's a really good bassist playing a really good bass with really good pickups through a really good DI and a really good compressor (probably compressed in the mix rather than when tracking). No fancy EQ, no real "effects."

Sadly, the real answer is "practice" and learn all you can about how to set up an instrument's action and pickup heights.

No offense, because I'm not putting myself in this category, but Tony Levin or Pino Palladino could walk into your house, play your bass through your amp, and sound pretty much exactly like that, assuming your gear isn't broken and the action is within acceptable limits.

That's a great tone/style to shoot for though.

I will give you a slight break and suggest that the sound would be much easier to attain with 10" or 12" speakers rather than the 15". Your bass is up to the task. I've not tried the BP200, but based on past experience with various effects boxes, including many other Digitech devices, I'd bet that the BP200 isn't helping you. At all.

3. you'll have to tweak the eq some to get that chirp

4. RyanHelms

RyanHelms

Sep 20, 2003
    Cleveland, OH
    btw, what's the clip? I dig it! plus, maybe knowing who the player is can give a clue as to their tone, i.e.