Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do I?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kudzukid, Jan 18, 2005.

1. kudzukid

kudzukid

Jan 18, 2005
    I'm still a rookie bassist, but I've been playing for a few months with a rock guitarist and drummer on some of the guitarist's original songs. Most (OK, all) of his songs are major chords. He doesn't know much about music -- like what key the song is in, for example. I've pretty much settled on simply following his chords, but I'd like to vary things a bit. Any suggestions? Forgive me if this post sounds simplistic. I'm new at the bass.

2. try writing down the chord changes for a couple of his songs -- then, at home with your metronome (you *do* own a metronome, right? ;)), work out a suitable bassline. Choose notes that lead into the following chord.

3. cassanova

cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Florida
    learn the scales , both major and minor, and their arpeggios, in all 12 keys inside and out, while you're learning those also take the time to learn chord construction.

Scales and chord construction go hand in hand with each other. The chords are built off the scale tones. By learning these two things you will have a firm grasp of the notes and intervals of the scale and specifics of the chords being played, this in turn will allow you to be a more competent bassist and be able to lay down a functional bass line; because you'll be able to hear the chords better, which will allow you to play better lines.

4. tim99

tim99 Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2003
    It is possible that all his chords are correctly major because they are I and IV and V chords. Or, he may not even be using a third and just playing 1-5-8 power chords. You and this guitar player need to learn diatonic chord construction. You need to learn that the sequence of chords in any key are maj min min maj maj min dim.