1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How long did you play before gigging?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by lilcrate, Oct 29, 2013.

1. lilcrate

lilcrate Tortdaddy

Sep 9, 2013
    St. Louis
    How long did you play before joining a band and how long before playing out?

2. I played about a year before my first gig, and probably about three before I played consistently.

3. Jungy

Jungy

Jun 9, 2011
    Oz
    I joined a band before I started playing, and gig was a month or so later.

4. If you count church praise band as gigging then I actually learned to play while gigging! I was asked to switch from guitar to bass because we had three guitar players and no bass player.
    As far as a bar/club gig it was a bit less than a year. The stuff I was doing then was so basic and I couldn't play and sing at the same time.

5. riskmetal

riskmetal

Apr 4, 2012
    I joined a band at the same time i began playing, and didn't play a show until a year or so down the line. Maybe about 2 or so years till I was comfortable.

6. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Got picked to play bass in the jazz band at school. Took the schools bass home to learn how to play it. Guy found out I "played bass". Six weeks later I was 15 years old in a working band of thirty something year old guys playing two or three shows every single weekend.

7. A few months, maybe around a year. It was a long time ago.

Of course, it was a party w/ about 30 people, but it was playing out.

It was about two years before I played an actual paying gig. By that I mean, we paid - after the take at the door we paid the bar tab and the house sound guy, and the net was negative $$.

8. kikstand454

kikstand454

Sep 28, 2012