1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to send this to FOH?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Goteky45, Jun 12, 2014.

1. Goteky45

Goteky45

Oct 30, 2009
    Portugal
    I started using 2 preamps in my rig: 1 clean and one with effects. I want to use DI for both preamps but I don't always have room in the mixer for 2 signals from bass (my band is kinda big).

Is there a way to mix 2 DI signals before sending to FOH? I want to send the Line out from preamp 1 (the xlr DI our on this one is not working) and XLR DI out from preamp 2.

I've seen some boxes to mix signals from 2 mics. But I've never seen one with both line and XLR ins.
    would this work? What about impedance mismatches?

Is there any other way?

Thank you in advance.

PS: If this is on the wrong forum, Mods please move it

2. La_Vaca

La_Vaca

Jun 8, 2014
    I'm no expert, but I think what you need is a mixer. Here's why; first I don't know of any box that'll combine them on a single channel (as most mixers / devices are going to override your xlr when you plug something into the line jack), and even if you got both signals on one channel, you'd have no way to control the blend - and you want control over that.

So, a small mixer will let you plug both your outputs in, control the mix between those 2, and send it to a single channel on FOH. I'll admit, though, that this separates where the balance and levels are set into 2 different boards (may even be in 2 different places at the venue) which might not be a good thing.

maestrovert likes this.
  3. Yup, you don't need to spend a fortune on a tiny mixer.

4. Blankandson

Blankandson Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2010
    Gallatin, Tennessee