1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

How to slap on a five string

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Flipowitz, Jul 25, 2020.

1. Flipowitz

Flipowitz

Jul 25, 2020
    Hello fellow bassists. I am an aspiring slap bassist but made the unfortunate mistake of being stupid and buying a five string after using an old 4 string for a while. I was wondering if there was a proper technique for slapping a five string efficiently. I have the basic technique of hitting the right string with my thumb on a 4 string but have had some trouble with the five string. I've tried multiple techniques such as the "flea" (as I like to call it, slapping with your thumb down. This proved difficult even on the four string.) Another technique I tried was with my thumb horizontal following through to the next string like in finger style. And directly hitting the string without any follow through with my thumb horizontal. Does anybody have any tips? I am using this bass Concert Bass :: JS Series Concert™ Bass JS3VQ, Amaranth Fingerboard, Cherry Burst

2. String spacing at the bridge has to suit your hands.

Fresh strings with good setup makes a huge difference for slap, esp the B string.

Flipowitz and Alik like this.
  3. thabassmon

thabassmon

Sep 26, 2013
    New Zealand
    I really don't think you need any special technique, as they all can work. Just focus on aiming.

4. ryco

ryco

Apr 24, 2005
    I learned to slap on a five string Jackson as it was the first active bass I bought.
    Just takes practice. After that I bought an active MM Sterling four and it was no problem switching between the two.

Flipowitz and Reedt2000 like this.
  5. bass12

bass12 Why are you shouting? Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2008