1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How will a 8 ohm amp and 4 ohm speaker work?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by George Harvey, Nov 25, 2020.

1. Will an 8 ohm head at 500 W work with a 4 ohm cabinet? Will it be efficient? I would like an Aguilar 500 but believe it is 8 ohm out only, no?

2. Is one outlet for 4 and the other for 8? I'm fairly new at this, but don't want to make too many mistakes at my age....Or is it that with 2 plugged in, it turns to 8 ohm for each cabinet plugged in?

3. I guess it has a pair of outputs labeled 8 ohm? You can use one or two 8 ohm cabs OR one 4 ohm cab.

The amp won't mind so long as no more than 4 ohm worth of cabs is plugged in. Eg one 4 and one 8 makes 2.7ohms. Bad.

Al Kraft, Helix, MCF and 1 other person like this.
  4. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

as S-Bigbottom 's post shows = you're good to go! virtually all bass amps will power 4-ohm cabinets (many will do 2 ohms!). lots of folks get an 8-ohm cabinet first and another one later to make a 4-ohm system --- pretty common. your 4-ohm cabinet will get all the power the amp can deliver...so be careful while you're having fun! good luck with your rig! :thumbsup:

kavallero, Al Kraft, whero and 3 others like this.
  5. I love The sound Alphonso Johnson gets and he was using Warwick double stack rig last time I saw him, double stack 4X10/2X12 not sure what head he was using. He is so awesome. But I can't play stuff like that but I do love the sound!

Dubious Aa likes this.
  6. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Benz
    May I suggest that you download the owner’s manual and learn how the amp works?

DaveDeVille, Al Kraft, Low8 and 21 others like this.