I’m a CPA. AMA!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Greenman72, Mar 3, 2024.

1. Greenman72

Greenman72

May 16, 2023
    This is a response to the “what should by bandmates and I do” thread, and the very first response was “get a CPA”.

I am an expert CPA and CFA, and a very bad rookie bassist. I will gladly trade my knowledge for yours (within reason, of course).

2. sean_on_bass

sean_on_bass

Dec 29, 2005
    USA
    Do you think a small time band needs a CPA? Is the complexity really there?

3. Sean150

Sean150

Jul 18, 2018
    They are a CPA, of course they think it’s necessary.

But truth be told, if a band is bringing in any significant amount of money it would probably be to their benefit to figure out what benefits and deductions can be applied to minimize the tax payable (The details start getting really complicated at this point). If the band is making a couple hundred dollars a gig it is better to just claim the full amount as income and pay tax on it. The cost will be less than paying an accountant.

Also, be wary of taking any tax advice from a random on the internet. Tax laws vary by jurisdiction and are very complicated. A CPA who works for a the GL team at a major corporation likely knows very little about tax law.

4. skycruiser

skycruiser

Jan 15, 2019
    Because everyone only offers manipulative advice that's works in their own self interest. (sarcasm)

31HZ, Goatrope, bignc and 1 other person like this.
  5. dbsfgyd1

dbsfgyd1

Jun 11, 2012
    Mascoutah, IL
    You actually have time for playing music this time of year??? LOL!!!

basspraiser and dalkowski like this.
  6. Sean150

Sean150

Jul 18, 2018