1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I am a newb at garageband... please help!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by StealthBanana, Aug 1, 2012.

1. Hi, so I'm really trying to get my bass setup with garageband on my macbook pro, but the thing is whenever I try to plug in to the computer from my bass (using a modified amp cable with 1/4' jack on one end and a 1/8' on the other) I'm just not getting any sound. And when I say there's no sound, I mean that to be true for everything. Youtube, music, whatever. The cable just mutes my computer entirely when it's plugged in so I know it must be something with my audio input but I honestly have no idea what to do. I've made sure the monitor is "on" in the GB settings as I know that is a common solution, but nothing I seem to do works.

Also please bear in mind that I don't have any mixers of any kind, I'm just trying to get my amp to go from my pre amp directly into the computer. Can anyone please help me?

2. packhowitzer

packhowitzer 155mm of pure destruction

Apr 20, 2011
    Atlanta
    well somebody with more expertise can probably tell you better than i can, but i believe you need some kind of audio interface. this is usually best achieved on a laptop with a USB network interface (but again there are tons of variations from onboard interfaces to USB to firewire and many others that I don't know about).
    The bottom line is- i don't think you can just plug your bass straight into an 1/8" audio input and have the signal make its way to garageband for recording.

Try something like this to get you started:
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/tascam-us-144mkii-usb-2.0-4-channel-audio-midi-interface