1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I feel like I hit a wall

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by NickTej22, Nov 2, 2013.

1. NickTej22

NickTej22

Feb 17, 2013
    Largo FL
    I've been playing music in general for maybe (dedicated) 12 years, I've had influences that have changed over the years that I always tried to idolize when playing, my main one of course being Ryan Martinie. I'm not horrible, but I feel like my progression at getting better has hit a wall. Anyone have any advice, maybe some training ideas? I am completely self taught. Should I pick up a learning DVD or something?(Lol)

2. Shakin-Slim

Shakin-Slim

Jul 23, 2009
    Tokyo, Japan
    Look at some books, and a teacher wouldn't be a bad idea. How's your ear? Learn as much music from diverse styles as you can, using your ear. Eventually it will come out in your playing.

3. Play music you're not comfortable with. Stretch.

4. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Couple questions.

Are you in a band?

What kinds of music do you like?

What are your goals? (In other words, how "good" do you want to be?)

5. August West

August West Supporting Member

May 19, 2009
    Colorado
    Transcribe bass lines and solos you like. That's the best way to learn and grow as a player.

6. NickTej22

NickTej22

Feb 17, 2013
    Largo FL
    Yeah I'm in a band, we play, and I love metal/hard rock. My goal is to stick with it(while of course meeting my priorities in line), and see how far I can take it.

7. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups