1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I feel like I'm about to make a big mistake....

Discussion in 'Bluegrass [DB]' started by Bass Doc, Jun 8, 2011.

1. Bass Doc

Bass Doc

Dec 1, 2010
    Charleston SC
    Normally I am a very logical person and have no problem making decisions, but I find myself totally frozen on this particular issue and I can't proceed, so thought I'd throw it out there for opinions.

First off, I know no one else can make this decision but me, but I am VERY interested in the opinions of people who have more experience.

So I'm not looking for someone to make the decision, but rather to pound on my reasoning until something gives. OK? Here goes:

I am an electric bass player that has recently become obsessed with Bluegrass. At age 52, I am ready to make Bluegrass my life's musical work from here on out. (I am a doctor not pro musician so this is a hobby for me).

I hand built my own fretted upright electric bass and love the way it looks, and plays.

Now, I have been playing with Bluegrass groups jams, and have noticed a kind of snobbish rejection of electric instruments. In fact there are places here where electric instruments are simply not welcome. Thankfully, not my main group. They are cool with the electric.

However, I accept that is Bluegrass is about acoustic instruments. So I decided to get one. Shopping now 6 months. In my region, there has been mostly junk in the $500-$700 (used) range. They feel unpleasant to play and unpleasant to my ear (at least in the stores).