Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

i need help ?????

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by onescreaming, Oct 4, 2005.

1. onescreaming

onescreaming

Oct 4, 2005
    hello im new to the bass world. i was the singer in a band but we lost our bass player so i said that i would fill in and i love it. so it got more intense. well my question is. . .

i have a swr working pro 400 watt head and a swr 4x10 working pro cab. what i need to know is if and when i get a new cab to run 8x10 do i just need to get a biger head or can i get something to up the watts on the head so that it can fill both cabinets???

2. Thor

Thor Moderator Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

If you look at the SWR website, note the following.

The working Pro 400 head is rated at 400 watts @ 4 ohms,
    250 watts at 8 ohms.

The 4x10 WP can handle 400 watts at 8 ohms.

Basically, what this means is that your bass amp is capable
    of delivering 250 max to your 4x10. After that it runs out of
    headroom and starts to clip the signal, where speaker damage
    can occur.

You could upgrade your head to one that will deliver up to or
    higher that 400 watts to the 4x10.

If you add another 4x10 to your rig, together the impedance
    of the two 8 ohm cabs is 4 ohms. The head will now deliver
    400 watts total to both (200 Watts to each cab). Same clipping issue applies when you run out of headroom.

A good match for 2 cabs would be an amp like the SWR 900.
    I recently got one for approx 600 in the classifieds used.

I would go for the amp first, then the second cab.
    But you may want to put more thought into it, as the
    choice of sound you want affects the direction you move
    in, and is certainly beyond the scope of your question.

Welcome to TB, lock up your wallet now... :D

3. onescreaming

onescreaming

Oct 4, 2005