1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ibanez EDB600

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by lord_arancherry, Apr 14, 2006.

1. lord_arancherry

lord_arancherry

Apr 14, 2006
    Brooklyn
    Hey all! This is my first posting to this site and I really do I hope I get a response. I have posted this info request on practically every other musicians blog and unfortunately I have not received one response yet :(
    Anyhow, I've been playing bass for about 10 years and I have been loyal to my current bass during 9 of those years. I bought the Ibanez EDB600 for the feel of the body, the thin neck, and its slap-friendly ergonomics. I recently played a Music Man Sterling and decided that I must own one (I actually got my first ever blister in my ten years of playing!). It will be a while before I decide to finally splurge on one, but I was wondering it is possible to modify my trusty Ibanez to hold me over until I can afford a Sterling, namely replace the soapbar pickups with some Bartolini's or something comparably awesome. I've always been somewhat displeased with the tone that I get out of it and I'm hoping changing the pickups will do the trick. Does anyone have any ideas on this? Does anyone else besides Ibanez manufacture pickups that fit this bass? Has anyone ever tried customizing the EDB600 at all? PLEASE SOMEONE HELP! The music stores around here are useless!

2. BillytheBassist

BillytheBassist

Aug 18, 2005
    Texas