1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ideal power for a 4x10?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by raferalston, Dec 22, 2011.

1. raferalston

raferalston

Jan 26, 2011
    looking into getting my first real setup for playing out...say I wanted to power a Eden 4x10...would I need to go with the WT800 or would less be the way to go. thanks...i'm a newb and would like to get it right the first time. gigs will mostly be bars but I would like to be able to do small venues if needed.

2. will33

will33

May 22, 2006
    austin,tx
    Depends entirely on the drivers and box design but in general, most 410's can't really make anything out of more than 300 or so watts. More than that would be for headroom or to help drive a second cabinet should you get one.

3. raferalston

raferalston

Jan 26, 2011
    interesting...maybe I'll still get the WT800 in case I want to upgrade town the line.

4. raferalston

raferalston

Jan 26, 2011
    add a 15 our something.

5. will33

will33

May 22, 2006
    austin,tx
    It's best to add identical speakers. The amp/speaker FAQ Sticky has a ton of info on all this stuff. Power, displacement, mixing speakers, etc.

6. BrBss

BrBss

Jul 9, 2010
    Albuquerque NM
    +1. Read the stickies.

7. raferalston

raferalston

Jan 26, 2011
    thanks. I'll do that.

8. You never add a 1x15 to a 4x10. Please do a search before you recommend such a pairing again. It doesn't work!

9. OP as a rule of thumb: Take the power rating of your cabinet - generally that's the combined THERMAL limit for the drivers or the point where they begin to melt. Divide it in two for the approximate power where the drivers run out of excursion and begin to fail mechanically. What you are left with is the maximum power you should ever feed your speaker cabinet.

10. Dave W

Dave W

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains