1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

ii V I lick as a fingering exercise

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by KulNova, Sep 9, 2016.

1. KulNova

KulNova

Oct 9, 2012
    Saigon, Vietnam
    Yesterday, I learnt this lick from Janek Gwizdala. You can get the link to the original lesson at the end.

I decided to revise the lick a bit. It turned out as an interesting & challenging daily exercise that will benefit.

I play the lick in 16th notes, instead of 8th note as the original lick. Try to go up & down the neck as long as I can. Speed up a few bpm after a while.

This is my first time practicing this exercise. Ended up at 90bpm.

Here is the link to Janek's original lesson: 10 mins a day course preview – VideoBassLessons

Spherical Cube likes this.
  2. Rev J

Rev J

Jun 14, 2012
    Berkeley, Ca.
    Another thing you can do to get the most out of exercises like this is changing fingerings. For example I printed up a bunch of freebie stuff that I got in a Janek Gwizdala email where he moves a pattern chromatically and rather than shift the same fingering up the neck I'll play the notes of the pattern starting on the index finger, then when it moves up a half step start it on the middle finger, then the ring finger, then the pinky. When it goes up a half step from there I'll move up a string and down a fret and play the pattern, then start on the middle, ring and pinky fingers then move that pattern up to the next position.

C/S,
    Rev J

Spherical Cube, NigelD and KulNova like this.
  3. KulNova

KulNova

Oct 9, 2012
    Saigon, Vietnam
    Thanks for the info Rev. I will try that one!

4. Rev J

Rev J

Jun 14, 2012
    Berkeley, Ca.