Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

im a beginner w/ questions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by thetrists, Mar 11, 2004.

1. thetrists

thetrists

Mar 11, 2004
    hey, i have a few questions for some knowledgable bass players. I am reeeeally interested in learning how to play bass, and i want one to start out on. But i'm reeeeally interested in an acoustic bass guitar, preferrably fretless (for the challenge, hahaha). Does anyone have any ideas for me, in terms of what type to look into? I could reeeally use the help.
    - Trista

2. Coutts_is_god

Coutts_is_god Guest

Dec 29, 2003
    Windsor, Ont, Canada
    Its called running with out learning how to walk.

3. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Starting on a freltess is quite hard.

4. Go for a fretted first

5. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    What they said, only I am curious as to what type of acoustic you want. Are you thinking guitar style (Squire and Tacoma are two that have inexpensive starter models) or upright (classical orchestra style)? With that information we could serve you better.

Welcome to Talkbass :)

Dan

6. thetrists

thetrists

Mar 11, 2004
    i know learning on a fretless would be hard. . . i guess i just like th etone better. . .anyways, i wanted an acoustic bass guitar, not an upright. . . . . so yeah, any opinions?
    -Trista

7. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    Look at the Squier and the Tacoma acoustic basses. They are probably the most accessible and most affordable that I know of. I would also check Musicians Friend to see what they have, you may find ideas there.

Dan

8. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000
    TX
    Don't we all like the tone better :D

My personal opinion--