1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

im a beginner...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by razorblade, May 25, 2011.

1. razorblade

razorblade

May 18, 2011
    I like metal and punk,what are some easy songs to learn?I read tab,somewhat.any suggestions?:bag:

2. Bonemachinebass

Bonemachinebass

Mar 27, 2011
    Maxwell murder by rancid, bro.

3. Eric Albany

Eric Albany

May 22, 2011
    A lot of METALLICA songs are easy to learn.

4. LIONFURY

LIONFURY Banned

Apr 26, 2011
    Tommy the cat by primus is one of the simplest basslines ever. Try learning it.

:p

5. ysand

ysand

Mar 26, 2005
    Athens/Greece
    One suggestion:
    Take lessons, and try learning songs that are not only from the genres u like.

6. Louie Louie

7. razorblade

razorblade

May 18, 2011
    Keep'em coming:)

8. Eric Albany

Eric Albany

May 22, 2011
    My first song was Adams song by Blink182. It only took me 3 hours to learn and I'm a slow learner!

9. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Old school punk is super easy - Ramones and Sex Pistols and all that. Blister in the Sun and I Wanna Be Sedated are so easily and so commonly played you forget they're punk songs.

I'm not a tab-hater, but try to get away from depending on tab. Learn to use your ear and to read regular notation.

10. Yes tab is fine for now and for looking up how a specific song, riff, etc. is played, however, I'd suggest you start using fake chord, lead sheet or standard notation. Why? First, if you are like me I can not remember more than five complete songs, using tabs, at any one time and I want to be able to play more than five songs. Second, bands do not pass out bass tabs they pass among themselves fake chord or lead sheets. Sooner or later you need to be able to play from those.

Give fake chord a try and see where it takes you.