1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm new with Upright Bass. Help me plz :P

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by gnmaster779, Apr 6, 2011.

1. gnmaster779

gnmaster779

Mar 13, 2011
    Sup guys !

I've started bass 2 years ago. I'm pretty good for the time i started. I would like to buy a Upright bass but i never played it or even fretless :meh:

I would like to buy an Upright bass not to cheap but not too good cauz it's my first one. My budget is 500 bucks max. What do you recommend me ?

2. I recommend you save up and wait to get a bass. 500 bucks will only get you a hunk of crap that you'll hardly be able to learn on.

Read the stickies and search, this topic is already beat to death (kinda like the best bass for metal on the BG side of the forum).

EDIT: I just looked through your posting history and I recommend you try to find a bass teacher or mentor to help you sort out many of your misconceptions about bass playing in general.

3. gnmaster779

gnmaster779

Mar 13, 2011
    Yeah i would like to have a great teacher but my teacher is not a bass teacher... he's a guitar teacher :meh: and i live in qc, canada, so there's not a lot of super teacher. I would like to have a mentor but all the people i know who play bass plays metal... And it's not the case for me... I really don't know what to do.

4. I understand where you're coming from, in fact what you just said sounds exactly like what I went through. Like exactly.

If I could offer any advise to you I'd say practice every second you get and don't stop reading talk bass. There is a lot of wisdom to be learned from this website you just have to keep your ears open.

5. waleross

waleross

Nov 27, 2009
    South Florida