1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm trying to put together a rig for small to medium venues

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Spin Doctor, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Hey guys and girls. I'm kinda new to bass and very new to playing live. I'm in a band with several potential gigs, but I don't have my own live rig yet. I'm using my bandmates bass gear for rehearsals.

I have an Eden navigator preamp and a QSC 2404 700 watt amp. But I need a cab. :confused:

We play Blues and Southern Rock. I'm using my Fender jazz with TI flatwounds, and I need to keep a fairly big sound. I don't think a refined sound is critical, but I don't know for sure yet. Additionally there are two guitarists (one rhythym and one lead) and a fairly energetic drummer.

Anyway, I was thinking of getting an epifani 3x10. Do you think that will be too Hi-Fi? Is it big enough? Additionally all this stuff needs to be able to fit into a Mitsu 3000GT. :eek:

Thanks for your help

2. JackANSI

JackANSI

Sep 12, 2006
    PA
    I can't let this thread go without recommending the TC Electronic RH450 and RS212 :)

I love mine and I can fit that, 2 LSx1503's, 1 LSx1801, 2 12" powered monitors, two basses, and a 24 channel board + snake in my WRX sedan... (granted there isn't room for anything else, not even a can of pepsi... ;))

3. bassninja7

bassninja7

Mar 1, 2008
    Napoleon, OH
    http://www.myspace.com/publicface
    well it all depends on how much you have to spend

4. Let's say $1500 for the cabs, tops and used gear is cool.

Thanks!

5. Wow, that 1x18 would take up all the room in my hatchback! I really dig WRX's though... I kinda need to get the smallest cab setup that will get the job done.

I have an ancient Ford F-150, also, but it doesn't have a cab on it... I guess I could drive that if I get a cover for the bed...