1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Improv./Writing slap riffs

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by fsf347, May 4, 2010.

1. fsf347

fsf347

Mar 28, 2008
    Alright, i know this is my second thread in 2 minutes, but this is also a problem iv be stumbling upon.

It seems like whenever I wanna jam/improv/write something slap, I feel like i use the same, or a very similar rhythm each time. I also feel like i use the same patterns on the fretboard as well.

I really dont have this problem in regard to fingerstyle, for as for slap, its a problem. Im fairly new to slap, and I plan on picking up Slap it! tomorrow, but im not sure what to make of this.

When i play slap, i feel that my natural instinct is to hit the tonic, play a couple muted notes, and head for the octave.

Any advice for a slap noob?

2. Not forgetting to pick up your copy of "Slap It" tomorrow. :)

3. TheBasicBassist

TheBasicBassist

Jan 8, 2009
    Newark, DE
    Endorsing Artist: Rosado Guitars
    Just play something else. Play anything except what you've been doing. Learn songs, force yourself to expand outside of your comfort zone, my friend.

- John

4. Chris K

Chris K

May 3, 2009
    Gorinchem,The Netherlands
    Partner: Otentic Guitars
    See if you could make a slap version of some of you fingerstyle grooves.

5. Eminentbass

Eminentbass

Jun 7, 2006
    South Africa
    Endorsing Artist: Ashdown Amps and Sandberg Basses.
    The problem I have with slap is that I generally only like the way it sounds with the minor pentatonic scale and dorian mode, so I also feel like everything I do sounds the same when I'm trying to slap and improvise over a one or two chord vamp. Have you explored left hand ghosting at all? It gives more rhythmic options than just muting with the left hand and slapping those notes.