1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Increase pressure on Bridge/Top to use 'lower' tension strings?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by iamthebassplayr, Jun 14, 2018.

1. iamthebassplayr

iamthebassplayr Gold Supporting Member

Jun 24, 2008
    Sacramento, CA
    I am a very lucky college student with a late 2017 Golia bass. Play mostly arco, very occasional pit gig (though wouldn't mind this changing)-- Orchestra and solo rep (orchestra tuning for the sake of this post). 104 cm mensure... not a whole lot of overstand, but a larger neck angle than my previous bass (notice it walking through narrow hallways :banghead:), surprisingly easy upper register access with the shoulder shape and neck angle. Not a thin top by any means, Strong arch, and I believe the bass bar is angled somewhat... (I can get some more measurements later if necessary?)

The bass has a lot of harmonic content, sings/rings out well in the upper register throughout thumb position on the G string... The D string has always sounded a bit cloudy and unfocused/diffuse sounding- not necessarily warm, but out of focus seems to be the best way to describe it. Open A string behaves a little funny.... feels 'wolfy' and resist the bow at times... sounds very spread and big, probably the loudest pitch on the bass next to Bb (which also will resist the bow), and B. E string sounds fine, though perhaps not quite as robust as it could be.

I am looking at getting an extension put on over the summer, and was going to send it down for the work with some new strings... I had been playing with Original Flat Chrome GDA and have floated between a Perm E and a Spiro Mittel E (unsure on 3/4 or 4/4).