1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Installing MM Pickups on a non-MM Bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by 420 Bass It, May 29, 2017.

1. 420 Bass It

420 Bass It

May 29, 2017
    Hello guys. I've been playing bass for almost two years and I think my ESP LTD bass needs an upgrade. I've been watching pickup reviews and demos like a mad man for the last week or so. I think I'll remove the P/J config my bass has and replace it with two MusicMan pickups, as the tone just blows my mind.

Now... is it even possible to do that? I don't mind paying the extra expenses of digging into the wood and such, but from a wiring perspective - the Seymour Duncan MM pages all state that they are "replacement pickups" for MusicMan basses. Can I get my bass to have these pickups?

2. Wiring is not the concern. You can wire any pickups on any bass. The trouble is making sure that the new routing completely covers the existing routing, or that a pickguard can cover any gaps. Have you done the measurements yet?

3. 420 Bass It

420 Bass It

May 29, 2017
    Thank you very much for the quick reply.
    Didn't really do any measurements yet, as I've been mostly researching the sounds I like and the pickups that produce them. This is my first bass, and my first pickup change.
    And if by routing you mean "wood holes", I'm pretty sure I've got it covered because P/J pickups aren't really that big, and MMs are.
    As for the placing, I'm thinking... One in the stingray sweet spot, and the second one somewhere bassier...?

4. The MM sweetspot position will not cover the existing routes. It will be in between them, slightly overlapping the P. You will need a pickguard or something, to cover up the existing routes.