1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Intermediate player looking for lessons

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by GenghisKhan, Jan 15, 2020.

1. GenghisKhan

GenghisKhan

Dec 29, 2019
    Berklee Jazz Bass:Hi. I'm a self-taught player who's been playing for about 15 years now. Throughout this time, I've only really been learning songs, techniques, etc., however, and barely any theory.

I do know some basic theory: I know where the notes on the fretboard are; I've been practicing major and minor scale patterns; and I know what constitutes a major, minor and 7th chord.

What I want to know are things like:
    • Which notes, besides the root, 3rd, 5th and octave, can I play when the guitar or piano plays a chord
    • How to get comfortable playing scales horizontally
    • How to improvise based on theory as opposed to "what sounds good"/ear
    • Arpeggios specifically on bass
    • How to write melodies
    • Phrasing
    • Chord progressions
    • How to get better at knowing which notes are sharp and flat in scales (FCGDAEB/BEADGCF)
    • How to practice knowing how many sharps or flats are in specific scales (is there a wording like Father Charles Goes Down And Ends Battles / Good Boy Deserves Fudge Always / All Cows Eat Grass?)
    I know I could Google these things, but I want structure -- a curriculum telling me where to start and where to go from there.

I tried Scott's Bass Lessons, but it's too expensive and it could be better when it comes to structure/curriculum. I know he's more focused on his website than he is on YouTube, but I can't stand him on YouTube. I want something that gets to the point. I don't know want to hear your story about being late to a gig.

Fender Play is 50% off right now, but it seems geared towards new players and towards learning songs.