Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is he a teacher or not?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Stanley Design, Dec 27, 2003.

1. A jazz trombonist that "can play bass but doesn't own one, but hopes to buy one soon" teaching me anything remotely decent considering I've been playing for a few years now?

Seems to me that the only person I'de want lessons from is a bassist, not a person that can play bass, they need the lifestyle, and they need the instrument too:rolleyes: .

So what am I to do? My girlfriend went ALL out on me for Christmas, bought me Rush live in Rio, The new ZAO cd, the new CKY dvd, a poster, chains, some other stuff, and 4 of these lessons. I don't only feel bad for the sheer effort and money put into all this, but the fact that I don't think the teacher would help me progress much if at all. I didn't want to accept it in the first place. This is her Bari Sax solo teacher as well.

I haven't got a clue what to do.

2. Lovebown

Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Sweden
    Depending on his skills and general knownledge , you can probably learn something from him.

Besides from rudimantary technique and so forth you can definately study music with a teacher of a diffrent instrument, it's even quite often beneifitiary to do so.

perhaps if his technical skills on bass are somewhat limited, maybe he can offer advice on other things? Working on your ears, note reading, maybe improvising ?

/lovebown

3. I tried to think about that, but the problems I have with my playing aren't with those type of things, and I'de rather better my playing by fixing the things I do wrong then pushing the things I do right.