Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is it hard to learn how to play the bass?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Kaboom, Jun 13, 2005.

1. Kaboom

Kaboom

Jun 13, 2005
    So i'm a complete newbie. I've never actually played, and i can't read music. I'm a drummer, but i've always wanted to play the bass. Now this summer i'm gonna have plenty of time to spare and i thought it would be a nice time to start.
    Is it absolutely necessary to learn how to read score music?
    Is it a hard instrument to start playing (obviously real hard to master, but is it hard till u can actually play SOMETHING?)
    Do you recommend i attend lessons, or can i get by by using one of them "learn how to play bass" books?
    finally, for a total beginner, what bass/amp would u recommend?
    Cheers!

2. Phe

Phe

May 30, 2005
    Oulu, Finland
    Well, I am newb too (played for a year). From my experience: Learn the theory. Learn how to read music. It is richness. And I recommend taking lessons AND reading those books. And searching Internet for stuff. Learn fingerstyle and pick. Be good and behave. Remember to wash your teeth.... rightythenokaybye!

3. Tash

Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    Bass is one of the easiest instruments in the world to play, and one of the most difficult to play well.

To start off I recomend finding a good used bass (you can almost always do better used than new) and a small practice combo. Then play a lot.

It is not "necessary" to learn theory or reading. You can just sit in you room and make notes all day long. The notes will sound better if you know the theory behind them, and if you can read you will be able to learn an entire world of music beyond what is available in tabs.

4. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003
    Mandeville, LA
  5. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003