Is it okay to begin bass study with a 5 string? Please advise...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by fLaT-fIfTh, Dec 20, 2004.

1. fLaT-fIfTh

Dec 20, 2004
    Producer: GospelChops Inc.
    First off, I'm not new to music. I'm just new to bass. I am fairly experienced on keys and I am comfortable with theory.
    Fortunately, I can buy a quality bass (Warwick Corvette or Thumb :hyper: ) and I don't want to have to upgrade later.

Is it too difficult to begin with a 5 string? Am I making a stupid decision? All opinions/experiences will be appreciated from newbies and vets. Thanks!
  2. Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    Yes its ok.

Just don't think 5 strings is necessarily better than 4...
  3. fLaT-fIfTh

Dec 20, 2004
    Thanks a lot! That's EXACTLY what I was thinking. :confused: Please explain...
  4. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    A friend of mine is starting with a fiver. Definitely go for it -- fives are becoming the new standard, so...why not? :)
  5. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    More is not always better. ;)

If you string a 5 stringer BEADG, then in reality you only gain 5 notes when compared to a 4 string bass strung EADG. Also, many 4 string basses come with a D-Tuner which allows you to drop the E to a D, reducing the difference to 4 notes.

Of course, things are more complicated than this; extended notes under your fingers if playing on the B string gives you more range because of the 5th string, for example. But, you pay for this convenience by playing on a wider neck, or playing a longer scale neck which can make playing the lower frets using one finger per fret more difficult than it would be on a 4 string.