1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is it time to change bass teacher ?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Toctoc, Jul 8, 2017.

1. Toctoc

Toctoc

Jul 8, 2017
    Hi guys,

I wanted to ask you when do you know it's time to change bass teacher ?

For the context:
    I have been playing bass for around 3 years now, I started music late, in my 20s. I picked up bass with one bass teacher that I have been taking lessons from since then. He's a good player, qualified, went to berklee and can play well a lot of genres. I am myself very interested in jazz, which is the only genre I've been playing for the last year, and my teacher knows it.

I can't help but feeling currently a bit disatisfied with the lessons I get, I feel we focus on the wrong things and the things I care about, I have to teach myself. For example we've spent some time on techniques like Jaco constant 16th notes, galoping with two fingers. Technics that I feel are quite specific and require a lot of time and repetition to nail down, which I am not giving them since at home I practiced my own things: learning how to read/sightread (Teached completly by myself, since we've never seen it in class), learning how to walk a walking bass, trying to be better on 2/5/1s, learning standard ...
    I have been playing in a jazz trio and without I mentioned anything about my bass teaching they adviced me to go get a jazz bass teacher.

Since I've had only one teacher I wonder if maybe it's normal to see really different stuff with your teacher that what you're aiming towards ? I guess it makes me more polyvalent than if I had somebody that would push me specifically in one direction only ? But at the same time I feel that if you want to achieve greatness, it is better to focus. Especially since I have so much to learn on basic things that would make me a better jazz musician ..