1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is Memorizing Song Worth the Time and Effort?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Sean150, Oct 12, 2020.

1. Sean150

Sean150

Jul 18, 2018
    I have been playing for a couple of years now and I am having trouble figuring out how much time and effort I should be putting into memorizing songs.

When I started out I memorized a whole bunch of songs (50ish); however my goal is to become better at improvising and composing more than playing in a cover band. As I spend more time practising fretboard memorization and rhythm exercises I am finding it difficult to find the time to learn new songs and maintain the memorization of the ones I know. I find this especially tough because I am now focusing on figuring out how a bass line is constructed vs. Memorizing Tab.

So my main question is if there is a benefit to memorizing and maintaining a large number of songs if one isn’t playing them live?

2. Seashore

Seashore

Jun 2, 2019
    Stay sharp on what you care about. You can always brush up on previously learned material if it's called for, it's a bit like riding a bike IME. Don't burn yourself out or sacrifice your other musical goals just to keep songs under your fingers.

Atshen, eriky4003 and Sean150 like this.
  3. Learn to recognize the intervals of what you're hearing, and where those intervals are on the fingerboard. Then you don't need to memorize particular songs, as you'll be able to hear where they are going.

Sean150, fearceol and MCF like this.
  4. BAG

BAG

May 5, 2014
    New Zealand