1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is there ONE exercise that's been key for you?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bioflava, May 10, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Bioflava

Bioflava Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2016
    Hey TBrs,

I'm an advanced beginner who's been playing on-and-off for a few decades. I play mainly rock and blues, and jam weekly with a 4-piece band. I've been working on really learning the fingerboard of late and have found this exercise really helpful:
    • Moving through the circle of 4ths (or 5ths) playing straight 8ths on each string (against a drum machine) and saying the note names as I play them. So if I start on F, I play the F on the E string, then on the A string and so forth playing all the Fs in the first 12 frets -- and then I go backwards.
    1. Although this is basic, it's really been helping my fretboard knowledge and time. I think I'm going to try Scott's suggestion here to say the note names as I play the scales and then learn the scales on a single string.
    Do you have an exercise that has really turbo-charged your playing? If so please share!

Thanks!

FenderB, G-Z, byoung93888 and 2 others like this.
  2. Mine would be quite similiar to yours, with a couple of differences:

Definitely working thru the circle of 4ths and the circle of 5ths (whichever comes to mind first that day)

Instead of pounding out 8ths or playing scales, I primarily focus on chord tones, mainly 7th chords (the big four: Maj, Min, Dom, [half]Dim). And I focus on naming each chord tone, not just the root. Again, whichever suits my fancy that day.

I play each arpeggio using five different fingerings: starting with the 4th finger, starting with 2nd or 3rd finger, starting with the 1st finger, a two string arpeggio and, finally, a one string arpeggio.