Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by sneutron, Dec 7, 2004.

1. sneutron

Dec 6, 2004
    Hi. I've been playing bass for 5-6 months and when I practice the joints/knuckles in the middle of my left hand (primarily the middle three) hurts a lot or is sore. My doctor told me to take anti-inflammatories and it should stop but it doesn't, at all. If I practice a lot for a few days at a time my hand throbs, even when I'm not playing. I was wondering if this is normal? or if it could be stopped? Does anybody know of any excercises/stretches/warm ups I could do to help? I really like playing and I would really have to stop or something because of this :(. I'm a girl (I don't know if that makes a difference) and maybe I'm just grabbing on too hard to compensate for my relatively small hands, I don't know but the middle knuckle on my middle finger starts to hurt almost immediately when I start playing. Any advice would be really really greatly appreciated.

2. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Hi sneutron, I'd check the following possibilities in order:

1) human error
    2) need more finger strength
    3) vitamin deficiency
    4) serious medical condition

(1) is most likely. As you say, if you're finding you have to grip really hard with your left hand, you might consider trying a shallower or narrower neck. Or maybe your action is too high for comfort. Does this happen with "all" basses? Have you taken a trip over to your local music store and checked out various basses, to see how they feel? Have you ever tried a short scale bass? (like, 32 inches)?