It all stops when the Jazz Bass player solos(?)

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by Bass Camel, Feb 18, 2005.

1. I'm new to Jazz, and soon to be new to double bass :D

I've gone along to watch some local gigs and Jam sessions and I've noticed that more often than not the whole band stops when the Bass player starts his solo. Even the drums on a few occasions.

Is this the norm?

My first guess was that it's because an unamplified DB can be quite quiet.

I'm not losing any sleep over it but I am interested.

2. bass_means_LOW

Apr 12, 2004
    Las Vegas
    If the bass was in fact unamplified, then that may very well have been a reason. Also, all bassists have different preferences-others laying out may have been the bass player's call. Most likely the reason may have been that the bassist was stretching out of the given time and/or out of the compositions' harmonic structure, whether wittingly or not. This would have left the other players no option but to lay out.
  3. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    All the band stops, but the conversations begin :)
  4. Basshole

Basshole Banned

Jan 28, 2005
    Oh no...drums stop! ...very bad!! Come, we must go!!! Bass solo next!!!!
  5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well I've been going to Jazz gigs every week for the last 10 years or so and DB solos are usually a quieter interlude - it gives contrast to the peformance - but I think the reason is as you guess, that when DBs were unamplified it was usually the only way to be heard -and this "tradition" has persisted even when DBs are amplified.

I think that it doesn't have to be like this - but if it's good Jazz, then the other players should be listening and responding appropriately - so if the bass solo is inaudible, then they should lay back or lay out - they should be playing at the volume that allows everybody to be heard.