Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jamming/gigging

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Sippy, Nov 5, 2005.

1. Sippy

Sippy

Aug 1, 2005
    Stuart,Florida
    I've run into a problem. I started to play bass for my sanity. I've been doing it for a while and I have kept the majority of my sanity. I've been invited to join this reggae/jam band. Well I've never played with a band really. It's mostly jamming at their houses but maybe some gigging. My question is, how do you guys walk up into a jamming session, not knowing what they're gonna be playing, and then play your way through? I can play by myself fine. I can do cool improv grooves for 4 hours straight, but as you all know it's completely different with a band.
    It's ironic I started playing bass and swore i'll never join a band. I just love the jamband and reggae sound. hehehe

2. chance planet

chance planet

Sep 24, 2005
    Easy - just listen well, play simple lines, and don't try anything to fancy. The other players will appreciate some simple fundamental bass, and you'll gain confidence as you play with them and the jams become familiar.

3. Sippy

Sippy

Aug 1, 2005
    Stuart,Florida
    cool :) Kinda play a root-octave-fifth pattern?

4. spc

spc

Apr 10, 2004
    South of Boston
    Hello, you may get some more specififc things, but I'll take first crack...
    Like Nike said, just do it! Sounds like it will be jamming, if I were you, I wouldn't even think about gigging. Not that it won't come up, but if this is your first jam with these guys (or first jam ever), you have enough work just getting yourself there. Worrying about gigging will come later when (and if) you all click musically, get along, etc.