Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Just want to share my excitement

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Alvaro Martín Gómez A., Oct 25, 2004.

1. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Hi everybody.

Since I started playing bass 18 years ago, I've played mostly latin music and I like it, but the music I love the most is classic rock.

A few years ago, I met a good drummer at the university and we started a covers band, playing only for the pleasure of doing it. We've played like one or two YEARLY gigs and those moments are so special to me.

Now, on October the 28th, we have a big gig at the university and I'm so excited again and ready to put all my energy on it. I just want to share these feelings with all of you. This is the set list:

-One Of These Days (Pink Floyd)
    -The Analog Kid (Rush)
    -Young Lust (Pink Floyd)
    -You Shook Me All Night Long (AC/DC)
    -Hey You (Pink Floyd)
    -Bastille Day (Rush)
    -Roundabout (Yes) Segue into:
    -Bass solo (gulp! :eek: ): Sexually Active intro / Country Music (Stuart Hamm)
    -Cupid's Dead (Extreme)
    -Moby Dick (Drum Solo - Led Zeppelin)
    -I Want You (She's So Heavy) (The Beatles)
    -2112 Overture / The Temples Of Syrinx (Rush)
    -Eruption (Guitar solo - Van Halen) Segue into:
    -Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love (Van Halen)
    -(Encore) Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd)

May sound ambitious, but I think we do it decently (well... there's a good amount of good luck in my solo). The main problem for playing this kind of music here is NO SINGERS. It's very hard to find a good one. The guy who sings with us is good, but singing this set is an extremely hard task for him. We wanted to play AC/DC's Back In Black, but we couldn't because of him :crying: .