Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Kinda Beginner but not really beginner bassist needs advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Scott, Nov 16, 2003.

1. Alright here's my story. I've been playing bass for about for about 8 months now, and recently got together with a few guys to play in a punk band. We were playing a small local show a couple of nights ago, and my bass got trashed. It was a Peavey Milestone IV. Some guy got thrown outta the mosh pit and knocked me into a wall. I unfortainetly landed against the wall on my bass, snapping the neck in 2. The dufus who was thrown out of the mosh pit(He was completely hammered) decided, what the hell, his bass is already broken, why not grab it and smash it. Me, still kinda dazed from the fall didn't realize what he was doing until it was too late.

Anywho, this brings me to my current problem. I need a new bass fairly fast. I'm looking for something that can be fairly punchy for punk, but also smooth for when I wanna play some jazz or ska stuff. I currently live in Canada so if you put the price of a certain bass, please tell me if it's Canadian or American money. Money isn't really a problem. My awsome dad has agreed to use a recently aquired bonus from work to pay for the new bass! Anyways, that's all I've got to say. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Guys and Girls

Scott :bassist:

2. Somebassguy

Somebassguy

Nov 5, 2003
    Everett Wa
    Schecter Custom4 or 5. Try it, you'll fall in love. Many on line music sites sell them for 499.00 US. Before you buy any other bass TRY THIS, plz!

3. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    Go order a essex they are great for the price... some say better than the squiers.. a few say they are up there with mexican fenders...