1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Laminate top question...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Sundogue, Apr 5, 2006.

1. Sundogue

Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI
    I'm going to be making my first Jazz body in quite some time (like twenty plus years) and I've never used a laminate top before.

A local lumber place has some really nice quilted and birds-eye maple that they will cut special for me...very cheap (plus I get my pick of the best figuring they have). I'm going to get a body blank of alder, but I'm not sure how thick to have them cut the body blank and how thick to cut the maple laminate.

I want to glue the maple laminate to the body and have it follow the arm rest contour, so if I want the body to be a finished 1 3/4" thick, what would be the ideal body blank and laminate thickness?

Also, does quilted or birdseye maple bend very easy for gluing to the contour part (I know thickness affects this)? Would I have to get it wet, and depending on what the ideal thickness is, is there a risk in breaking/cracking the laminate while bending it? I've never worked with quilted or birdseye maple so I really don't know much about it's properties.

I was thinking 1/4" thick for the laminate as I'd like to have some leeway for rounded the top edges a bit without going into the alder body.

Any suggestions, ideas...or things I should look for?

2. Why don't you get the top cut at 1/2", That way you don't have to worry about bending the birdseye maple. You can just the contour the birdseye. I would put a piece of dark veneer in between the two layers also. It gives the light colored wood a nice separation and accent line.

3. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
  4. Sundogue

Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI