Latin musicians and styles help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassguppy, Jun 2, 2005.

1. First, let me say that I have been playing for over 20 years and consider myself semi-adept and proficient at several different styles. But, in my never ending search for skill and knowledge I now want to learn a bit about latin music.

Mainly Cuban, Brazilian, or any other latin style music that anyone may think may give be a healthy dose and introduction to these styles. Can anyone provide direction to bands I should listen to and specific bass players I should gain knowledge from. Probably what I'm looking for is Samba, Bossa Nova, Latin Fusion, Jazz styles. But feel free to suggest other styles as well.

Thanks to all very much.
  2. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    If you're into books, you could check out these:

I've only skimmed through these on a couple of occasions, but if they're done to anywhere near the level of Sher's excellent New Real Book series, they should be very well done and very helpful.
  3. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
    The Latin Bass Book by Oscar Stagnaro is awesome. Complete with CDs with bass track panned to one side so you can remove bass when you want to jam with the CD. Oscar is an incredible bassist. The CDs alone are good enough to simply listen when you aren't practicing.

Get it.
  4. RiddimKing

Dec 29, 2004
    Israel Cachao is a Cuban bassist who gets cited most often for his contribution to Afro-Cuban music. Check him out on Amazon.
  5. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Couple of other books that helped me out-
    Funkifying The Clave For Drums & Bass-Robbie Ammeen & Lincoln Goines
    The True Cuban Bassist-Carlos del Puerto

...Stagnaro's book is fairly recent addition for me; it is also very good.

I suggest getting very, very, very comfortable with the clave.
    Learn them, know them, live them.