1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Leading a Band 101: Seeking Advice

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by TjMetalhead, Nov 2, 2017.

1. TjMetalhead

TjMetalhead

Oct 19, 2011
    New Mexico
    Hello everyone! So as the title states I'm seeking advice. After 5 years in the making the band I formed, play bass in, and wrote the music for finally played it's first two shows in September and October. It went over really well and a lot of people liked us. For reference we're a classic sounding progressive speed metal band doing original music. (Iron Maiden, Rush, Judas Priest style music with other stuff thrown in). So this where it all begins right? I'm very new to being a leader in a band. I've played in bands before but none where I was the active leader. So basically I just need advice as a newbie. Do's and don'ts, how to get gigs, making the right choices etc. Any guidance is appreciated, thanks!

Stumbo likes this.
  2. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2017
    TjMetalhead likes this.
  3. callofcthulhu

callofcthulhu

Oct 16, 2012
    Link your band here, for starters

TjMetalhead and Stumbo like this.
  4. TjMetalhead

TjMetalhead

Oct 19, 2011
    New Mexico
    Cool, didn't want to come off as promoting or anything. Should I post the social media here or is there a specific forum for that?

Stumbo likes this.
  5. TjMetalhead

TjMetalhead

Oct 19, 2011
    New Mexico
    Stumbo likes this.
  6. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    The more links the better. :thumbsup:

7. TjMetalhead

TjMetalhead

Oct 19, 2011
    New Mexico